Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default coolant - water thermostat opening temp

    Does anyone knows at which temperature does the water thermostat opens?
    I'm thinking to mount a fan switch that operates at 87/83 and 92/87 degrees {instead of the oem 92/87 and 97/92 degrees} and I'm wandering if I can have any benefit of it - if for example the oem water thermostat opens at less than 92 degrees.
    Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    just found it! It's 83 +/-2 degrees C.
    Need to consult the manual more often!
    Last edited by arjunior45; 05-06-09 at 09:59.
    Nick

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Just bought the 'new' thermo-switch.
    It's from FIAT Tipo with air-con and it operates at 88/83 degrees C for the 1st speed and 92/87 degrees C for the 2nd speed! And it costs just 13 E {oem 45 E}.
    I'll mount it tomorrow but the weather is windy, euro-parliament elections for this weekend {so no traffic at all for this weekend} and I won't be able to test the temps at traffic!!! I hate that!
    Nick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Nice one Nick.
    Do you have a part number? Who makes it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    The FIAT part number is 7576281 {99,9999% sure}, the FAE one is 37830.
    I'll check the one I've bought late in the afternoon and I'll post 'make' and number.
    Nick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    I?ve been using that thermo-switch for more than 2 years with no problems. The engine never goes over 90?C.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Juan AR155Q4 View Post
    I?ve been using that thermo-switch for more than 2 years with no problems. The engine never goes over 90?C.
    Thanks Juan. It was the time to change mine too. I don't like to have 'high' temps and my impression was that it was difficult to find one here. But how stupid of me believe the Greek mechanics. It was just a phone call and 12 min of time!!!
    Nick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlfaJack View Post
    Nice one Nick.
    Do you have a part number? Who makes it?
    well, someone through away the box and can't say the 'maker'. Not any mark on the switch either. Just the temp ranges {88/83 92/87} a '01 14' and the number '9100606'.
    Sorry Jack. Do you want me to ask the supplier for the 'maker'?
    Nick

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arjunior45 View Post
    well, someone through away the box and can't say the 'maker'. Not any mark on the switch either. Just the temp ranges {88/83 92/87} a '01 14' and the number '9100606'.
    Sorry Jack. Do you want me to ask the supplier for the 'maker'?
    No worries Nick. Not really a huge issue. My local motor parts place should have it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlfaJack View Post
    No worries Nick. Not really a huge issue. My local motor parts place should have it
    Tipo Diesel should have this switch as oem.
    Nick

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    From the part number above...

    (FIAT) - ML UNO CS (1988-1990)
    (FIAT) - MU UNO DIESEL R/89 (1989-1995)
    (FIAT) - XR MILLE (1994-1995)
    (FIAT) - XS MILLE CLIP (1995-1997)
    (FIAT) - 2B DUNA BENZINA/DIESEL (1986-1990)
    (FIAT) - XP ELBA CSL (1991-1996)
    (FIAT) - 2M FIORINO (1991-1993)
    (FIAT) - 2N FIORINO RL (1993-2000)

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Duna Diesel matches, {I remember that talking with the supplier}.
    Any way, as long as it's a M22x1,5 thread, three wires {red in one connector and white {B} and black {A} wire in a double connector} and the temp ranges are 88/83 and 92/87, can do the job.
    Unfortunately did not mount it yet as my '29' key is 'missing' {God knows where it is}. I'll mount it Monday morning as it's just a 'plug and ... play' job.
    Nick

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Juan AR155Q4 View Post
    I?ve been using that thermo-switch for more than 2 years with no problems. The engine never goes over 90?C.
    Juan did you 'reinforced' the electric circuit {wires or fuse} or did you just replace the switch?
    Talking with a guy here he told me that with this switch there is the risk to melt some wire!
    Can not see why. Maybe because the 'second' speed will be on for longer?
    Nick

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arjunior45 View Post
    Juan did you 'reinforced' the electric circuit {wires or fuse} or did you just replace the switch?
    Talking with a guy here he told me that with this switch there is the risk to melt some wire!
    Can not see why. Maybe because the 'second' speed will be on for longer?
    Didn?t change any wire at all, and it?s still working fine.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Report :
    Just mounted the Duna diesel fan switch and went for a short ride.
    Max temperature was 92 degrees C and the 2nd speed of the fan was on almost all the time. It was late in the afternoon and the amp temperature was more or less 27 degrees.
    I'll check it again tomorrow in the city traffic, with temperature estimated to be at 37 degrees.

    Removed the inner 'bath' from the air-vent hole on my front bonnet too so hot air from engine bay can vent more easily.

    That's all for now.
    Nick

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •