Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: A/C compressor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default A/C compressor

    Hi guys!

    I was wondering, how can I leave out the A/C compressor.
    I know, there are some factory Q4s, without aircon.
    How is the servo pump mounted/connected?
    Any pictures?
    Any suggestions?

    ac.JPG

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Someone did this recently....AJ perhaps???

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Don't tell me no one has such a car, or done this...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrinx View Post
    Someone did this recently....AJ perhaps???

    wrinx
    If no one answers, I'll send him a mail.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Definately AJ...first post, page two: http://forum.berlinasportivo.org/sho...p?t=843&page=2

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrinx View Post
    Definately AJ...first post, page two: http://forum.berlinasportivo.org/sho...p?t=843&page=2

    wrinx
    Thanks!

    I wrote him a PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    271
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    please tell more about it as I am goging to do the same.

    what parts do I need etc..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    963
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    me too - any chance of complete details?

    thanks..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    271
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gery83 View Post
    Thanks!

    I wrote him a PM.
    did you get an answer?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peter holst View Post
    did you get an answer?
    Yes, but I haven't tryed it yet:

    " Hi,

    Yeah it was quite easy - if you remove the aircon pump you can see the 2 brackets - lower one for aircon, upper one for power steering. I think then the power steering kind of goes in the middle making use of both mounts.

    You can do it with all the standard mounts if you have them, nothing extra needed.

    Some pics:

    IMG_2554_resized.jpg
    IMG_2555_resized.jpg

    I don't think I've got anything which shows it better, I'll have a look when I get home.

    Adam

    I looked, but I couldn't find any better pics unfortunately.

    One other thing - you also need to reverse the pulley on the steering pump to make it sit in line with the crank pulley (only 3 bolts that hold the pulley on). Then you just need the non AC belt that goes straight from the crank -> steering pump "

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    963
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Yes - I got the reply via a 'pm' from AJ as well. Do the two photos show the PS pump 'after' it has been moved to the lower position? It looks to be in its original position to me - and too high to enable a belt to go direct from the ps pump to the crank??

    jimn~

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    OK I've just realised, somebody has sharp eyes and I was rushed when replying! Correct, that picture shows the PS pump in the original location.

    These, however, after digging a little further show it in the new location - however they do not show the mountings very clearly (well, at all really...)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by AJ; 05-11-08 at 20:02. Reason: Not only do I have a broken keyboard but I must also have a broken mouse, and brain

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    EDIT: The photos still work if you click on them - just the thumbnails do not.

    Does anyone have the photos of this as I am intending the same job.

    Is AJ's method the same as how Alfa did it?

    Thanks,
    Jack

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Posts
    4,759
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    I'm always saying that I'm going to get rid of the aircon pump, but seeing as I can't get to the clips holding the inlet manfold on, getting access to all of this is an engine out job so it can wait.

    But just looking at those pics, working on an engine on the bench looks so enticing.
    1994 Alfa Romeo 155 Q4: Dozeing in the garage.
    2009 Audi A4 tdi: Everyday drive.
    1994 Alfa Romeo 155 , 1995cc Std Standard Black

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    it is easy
    just remove compressor, and put the steering pump
    on the place of the compressor
    only the driven pulley for the steering pump must be inverted

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Yes, it was quite easy in the end and one less belt to worry about

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    134
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    mine car is without ac allready fabric

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Is it worth to give up to AC system in order to gain more on the power/engine response side? Thanks.

    Cheers,
    C.
    Alfa Romeo 155 Q4 WB '95
    Alfa Romeo per sempre !

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    134
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    I dont know how much difference is there by removing AC system but what i know for shure is that u have couple of kg less infornt of the car witch is good

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Is it an engine out job?
    Drivers:
    - Red 155 Q4 Winny
    - Red 33 16v
    - Green 33 16v SW
    - Mrs Wombat Freelander

    Projects:
    - Various Alfa 33s

    Awaiting a grand re-awakening:
    - Red 75 3.0 Cloverleaf
    - The Wombat winter Freelander

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the wombat View Post
    Is it an engine out job?
    No but inlet manifold needs to come off which is a 30-60 minute job depending on how easy you can get to the jubilee clips holding it on.

    I don't know if it is worth it from BHP point of view but it didn't matter to me as half the AC system was missing anyway (i.e no radiator fitted).

    I did it mainly to simplify the setup.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Same here. Condensor removed somewhere in the past. Looks like one of the pipes is mangled as well. I could restore it (quite like not overheating in the summer), but will probably go the removal route.
    Drivers:
    - Red 155 Q4 Winny
    - Red 33 16v
    - Green 33 16v SW
    - Mrs Wombat Freelander

    Projects:
    - Various Alfa 33s

    Awaiting a grand re-awakening:
    - Red 75 3.0 Cloverleaf
    - The Wombat winter Freelander

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,659
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    It is the easy choice when the system has been opened to the elements so long you just don't know if it will really work when plumbed together.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •