Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default Electronic boost controllers

    I'm looking for a boost controller, manual controllers are cheap, but are the electronic version much better?

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Damn....best go join the boys at Maccy D's then...

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrinx View Post
    Damn....best go join the boys at Maccy D's then...

    wrinx
    lol, I am going off the the SE Coupe meet now to pick up a tyre, I know a few of them run the Greddy Profeb B II so will ask what they think..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Thanks....and an update on your BC

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    I asked a fella who is running one but really all I got out of him is that the delivery of the boost is controllable so it can come in gradually. I think this is relevant on a FWD where wheel spin and torque steer might be an issue but on ours, all the power early as possible would be best so a MBC is best IMO.

    I still have boost leaks - its flying up to 1 bar and falling to about 0.7 now - each time I raise the boost it doesnt fall as far - it was falling to 0.5 when it was set to a 0.8 peak, now its up to a 1.0 peak, it falls to 0.7..........a bad boost controller?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Thanks, if that's the case I want a MBC which can be run to the cabin....will there be any problems caused by running the vacuum hoses in to the cabin???

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Not sure TBH, the air in the line between the turbo and wastgate has to compress over a much longer line now, but I have no idea if that will make a difference or not....maybe a question for a turbo specialist or EvoDelta....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlfaJack View Post
    I still have boost leaks - its flying up to 1 bar and falling to about 0.7 now - each time I raise the boost it doesnt fall as far - it was falling to 0.5 when it was set to a 0.8 peak, now its up to a 1.0 peak, it falls to 0.7..........a bad boost controller?
    Dunno...do you get the same behaviour without the BC and Pierburg?

    Having never used a BC...is it perhaps typical behaviour???

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Need to reconnect the pierburg valve and test really. AFAIK the MBC is there to hold constant boost - no movement at all when on full throttle...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    963
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    The Q4 already has an electronic boost controller. Its VERY easy and inexpensive to gain almost total control over the boost characteristics of the engine. You just need to by a ROM emulator (moates.net) and use the free software (Tunerpro RT).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Sounds interesting, will have a look later

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Taking advantage of the pierburg valve....interesting...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Got the software...have I got this right, software to change parameters and then the programming is held in the emulator???

    You may have to explain this

    Ostrich 2.0 looks like the favourite....?

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    What chip do you have Steve?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Squadra...

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrinx View Post
    Squadra...

    wrinx
    I think that puts a spanner in the works with regards to changing boost maps...need jim to confirm my limited info though..

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    all the info you need is there :http://www.berlinasportivo.com/Techn...CU/hexmaps.php
    but you need to check fueling with O2 sensor to avoid underfueling and keep in mind that with the oem MAP you can rise boost up to 1,2 bar {as they say}at middle range.

    Nick

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Someone's left a load of web code on that link...needs sorting so I can read the info

    Looks like I'm back to a MBC then....still want it in the cabin though

    ...any problem with using longer pipes to the cabin? Does it slow the system in any way?

    wrinx
    Last edited by wrinx; 29-07-08 at 13:14.
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrinx View Post
    ...any problem with using longer pipes to the cabin? Does it slow the system in any way?

    wrinx
    Anyone?

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    963
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    wrinx - I read on the net (though I cant find the reference) - of a WRX enthusiast who tried an experiment using 100 meters of thin tube (on a roll) to connect his boost gauge and manual controller. It made no measurable difference to turbo spool up time.

    .. you can't use a proprietary chip like the squadra if you want to set the boost etc up yourself - you can just buy an off the shelf generic 27c256 EPROM that fits the ECU and copy the code direct into it - however (and even simpler...) I am simply using the Ostrich 2.0 plugged into the ECU - rather than a separate 27c256 - and its very quick and easy to make changes to the code.



    jimn.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Mmm, you keep changing my mind!

    Tell me more....

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Decided to go the cheaper route and bought a Powertek Boost Controller, looks like a quality item so hopefully all will be well



    Might look in to this electrical box of tricks in the future

    wrinx
    My Q4 in the Garage

    www.alfaromeo155.co.uk ............................ □□□-V-□□□ .................................. www.ilmostro.co.uk

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,664
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Looks good!

    Now I need you to let me know how you get on....

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    halfway to the 'ring
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    0

    Default

    squadra chips have a copy protection on them, so it's doubtful you can start from your squadra to make a new chip.... not that you'll need to with a MBC

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •